• AV2329 Katalognummer
  • 822252232929 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2015 Utgivelsesår

Apollo' | s Fire Baroque Orchestra

Sorrell, Jeannette

Avie Records


Sugarloaf Mountain - An Appalachian Gathering

1. The Mountains Of Rhùm
2. Farewell To Ireland - Highlander’s Farewell
3. We’ll Rant & We’ll Roar (Farewell To The Isles)
4. The Cruel Sister
5. Se Fath Mo Buart Ha (The Cause Of All My Sorrow) - The Butterfly - Barney Brallaghan
6. Nottamun Town (Roud #1044)
7. Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair (Roud #3103)
8. I Wonder As I Wander - The Gravel Walk - Over The Isles To America
9. The Fox Went Out On A Chilly Night
10. Oh Susanna! - Pretty Peg - Far From Home
11. Once I Had A Sweetheart - Wayfaring Stranger
12. Pretty Betty Martin - Katy Did - Red Rockin Chair
13. Just Before The Battle, Mother - Go March Along
14. Glory In The Meeting House
15. Oh Mary, Don’t You Weep
16. Sugarloaf Mountain

Velg antall  


On 'Sugarloaf Mountain: An Appalachian Gathering', Apollo's Fire explores the rich repertoire of renaissance English and Scottish ballads that crossed the Atlantic and evolved to express a new world, an Americana life of joys and sorrows, love and loss, dancing and prayer.

Following the chart topping album Come to the River (AV2205), which conjured early 19th-century rural Americana, Apollo's Fire presents Sugarloaf Mountain: An Appalachian Gathering. An award-winning programme created by Apollo's Fire's director Jeannette Sorrell, Sugarloaf Mountain follows the joys and sorrows of Celtic immigrants who settled in Appalachia. Sparkling fiddle tunes and haunting ballads of the British Isles crossed the Atlantic during the 17th, 18th and early 19th centuries and took root in the hills of Virginia. They mingled with American shape-note hymns and African spirituals, creating the soulful music known as Appalachian. Passing through love and loss, dancing and prayer, the music overflows in celebration as the people of the mountains raise their communal voices.


Laster kommentarer ...
Robert Schumann: Frauenliebe und -leben, Op. 42 / Liederkreis, Op.24 / Maria Stuart Lieder, Op. 135 / Songs from Myrthen, Op. 25 - Kielland, Marianne Beate (mezzo-soprano) / Weisser, Johannes (baritone) / Mortensen, Nils Anders (piano)

Robert Schumann er velkjent for sin vakre musikk fra romantikken. Blant hans mest kjente komposisjoner er en mengde lieder, hvorav mange av dem ble komponert i 1840, samme år som han giftet seg med Clara Schumann. To av Norges mest anerkjente liedtolkere, Marianne Beate Kielland og Johannes Weisser, har fått med seg Nils Anders Mortensen på klaver.

Robert Schumann is well known for his beautiful music from the Romantic era. Among his best-known compositions are a large number of lieder, many of which were composed in 1840, the same year he married Clara Wieck. This release features two of Norway’s leading interpreters of lieder, Marianne Beate Kielland and Johannes Weisser, joined by pianist Nils Anders Mortensen. 

The Art Of Brynjar Hoff - Hoff, Brynjar (obo)

LAWO Classics vil med denne utgivelsen feire Brynjar Hoffs 70 år lange musikerliv. Hoff er en legende i norsk musikkliv. Han var en av de mest sette klassiske artistene på TV gjennom en årrekke og en av landets mest aktive musikere på konsertscener rundt om. Han var en av de få utvalgte norske musikere som både var solist og gjorde innspillinger med English Chamber Orchestra og London Philharmonic Orchestra.

With this release, LAWO Classics wishes to celebrate Brynjar Hoff’s 70 years as a musician. Hoff is a legend in Norwegian musical life. For years he was one of the country’s most active classical artists as a television and concert performer in Norway and abroad. He was also one of the few Norwegian musicians to both perform as soloist and record with the English Chamber Orchestra and London Philharmonic Orchestra. 


×Tips en venn

Sugarloaf Mountain - An Appalachian Gathering <span>-</span> Apollo's Fire Baroque Orchestra Sugarloaf Mountain - An Appalachian Gathering Apollo's Fire Baroque Orchestra

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt