• ODRCD392 Katalognummer
  • 855317003929 EAN
  • CD Format
  • 2019 Utgivelsesår

Oyarzabal, Daniel (organ)

Castello, Joan (percussion) | Guillem, Juanjo (percussion)

Holst, Gustav | Saint-Saens, Camille | Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay | Guridi, Jesus | Mussorgsky, Modest | Bach, Johann Sebastian | Ravel, Maurice



01 – Gustav Holst – Mars (from The Planets Op. 32)

02 – Camile Saint-Saens – Aquarium (from Le carnaval des animaux R. 125)

03 – Camile Saint-Saens – Finale (from Le carnaval des animaux R. 125)

04 – Nikolai Rimski-Korsakov – Alborada (From Capriccio Espagnol Op. 34)

05 – Nikolai Rimski-Korsakov – Escena y canto gitano (From Capriccio Espagnol Op. 34)

06 – Nikolai Rimski-Korsakov – Fandango asturiano (From Capriccio Espagnol Op. 34)

07 – Jesus Guridi – Intermedio (from El Caserio)

08 – Modest Mussorgsky – The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga) and The Great Gate of Kiev (From Pictures at an Exhibition)

09 – Johann Sebastian Bach – Sinfonia from Wir danken dir Gott Cantata BWV 29 (arr. M. Dupre)

10 – Johann Sebastian Bach – Wachet auf ruft uns die Stimme BWV 645 (arr. J. S. Bach)

11 – Maurice Ravel – Bolero

Velg antall  


Colourful arrangements for organ and percussion of glorious music by Ravel, J.S. Bach, Saint-Saëns and Mussorgsky, performed by Spanish organist Daniel Oyarzabal on the majestic León Cathedral organ.

The organ of León Cathedral in Spain is celebrated for its rich range of sounds, which are showcased by Daniel Oyarzabal in the variety of works selected for this release. He is joined by percussionists Juanjo Guillem and Joan Castelló, who add rhythmic emphasis and additional colour to these arrangements made by Oyarzabal himself.

J.S. Bach was a master of organ music, and we hear his Sinfonia from Wir danken dir, Gott, Cantata BWV 29 as originally arranged by Marcel Dupré, alongside Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV 645 in Bach’s own arrangement of his Cantata BWV 140. There are also transcriptions of some of the most beloved works in the repertoire: Mussorgsky’s vivid Pictures at an Exhibition, the irresistible Carnival of the Animals by Saint-Saëns, the Capriccio Espagnol by Rimsky-Korsakov, and Ravel’s hypnotic Bolero. It is fascinating to hear how the stops of this famous organ replicate the colourful orchestration of these composers. There is also the chance to hear more rarely-performed music by 20th-century Spanish composer Jesús Guridi with his critically-acclaimed work, The Homestead.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Bolero - The Orchestral Organ Bolero - The Orchestral Organ Oyarzabal, Daniel (organ)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt