• TOCC0590 Katalognummer
  • 5060113445902 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2021 Utgivelsesår


Three recent works by the English composer Arnold Griller (b. 1937) are joined here by the earliest music he still acknowledges, the gentle and touching Concerto Grosso for string orchestra (1955), which is informed by a serenity and wisdom uncommon in such a young composer. Like Berg?s Violin Concerto, Griller?s (2017) was born of his response to the loss of a young life, and shares Berg?s elegiac awareness of dying beauty; the Trumpet Concerto (2018), by way of deliberate contrast, accumulates energy and vivacity as it proceeds. Dances under an Autumn Sky (2017), subtitled ?Orchestral Music in Six Scenes?, is a balletic blend of joie de vivre and intense instrumental drama, which shares Stravinsky?s fondness for rhythmic surprises and Tippett?s for angular, primal energy.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Orchestral Music, Vol. 3 Orchestral Music, Vol. 3 Bydlowska, Kamila / Lloyd, Matilda / Liepaja Symphony Orchestra / Mann, Paul

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt