• CDA68269 Katalognummer
  • 034571282695 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2019 Utgivelsesår

Callaghan, Simon (piano)

Nicodé, Jean Louis



Nicodé, Jean Louis:

10 Poésies, Op. 22 'Ein Liebesleben'
Six Fantaisies, Op. 6 'Andenken an Robert Schumann'
Variations et Fugue sur un thème original, Op. 18

Hayes, Jeremy

Connellan, Ben

Velg antall  


Felix Draeseke`s description of Nicodé as `more a moderate progressive than a cacophonist` - in contrast to his younger contemporary Richard Strauss - may have been intended as a compliment, but doesn`t begin to do justice to this profoundly enjoyable music, its several influences (most notably Schumann) never far away.

What is beyond doubt is that Nicodé wrote idiomatically, even brilliantly for the piano. Possibly the biggest takeaway of this release, however, is the superb artistry of Simon Callaghan…It is a pleasure to encounter his solo work. Clearly a musician of curiosity and discernment, Callaghan’s robust piano-playing is also thoughtful, subtle and refined. Gramophone

Little-known music presented by a practised musician and with deep-rooted conviction. MusicWeb


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Nicodé: Ein Liebesleben & other piano works <span>-</span> Callaghan, Simon (piano) Nicodé: Ein Liebesleben & other piano works Callaghan, Simon (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt