• SIGCD627 Katalognummer
  • 0635212062722 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2020 Utgivelsesår

Choir of the Queen' | s College Oxford | Rees, Owen

Rees, Owen

John, Laurence | Wakeford, Lucy (harp)

Bingen, Hildegard von | Blackwell, David | Britten, Benjamin | Dove, Jonathan | McDowall, Cecilia | Praetorius, Michael | Tabakova, Dobrinka | Weir, Judith | Young, Toby

Choir of The Queen' | s College Oxford




Judith Weir: Drop down, ye heavens, from above
Michael Praetorius: Es is ein Ros entsprungen
David Blackwell: Lo, how a Rose e er blooming
Michael Praetorius: Resonet in laudibus (à 6)
Jonathan Dove: The three Kings

Benjamin Britten:
A Ceremony of Carols, Op. 28:
I. Procession
II. Wolcum Yole!
III. There is no rose
IVa. That yongë child
IVb. Balulalow
V. As dew in Aprille
VI. This little babe
VII. Interlude
VIII. In freezing winter night
IX. Spring Carol
X. Deo gracias
XI. Recession

Michael Praetorius: In dulci jubilo
Dobrinka Tabakova: Good-will to men, and peace on Earth
Hildegard von Hildegard: O virga ac diadema
Michael Praetorius: Geborn ist Gottes Söhnelein
Toby Young: The Owl
Michael Praetorius: Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern
Cecilia McDowall: Now may we singen
Michael Praetorius: Puer natus in Bethelem

Velg antall  


A glorious collection of Christmas music spanning over 900 years, centred around Britten’s A Ceremony of Carols, a work seen as both a signal of Britten’s turn back towards English musical and cultural traditions and as a distinctly modern composition.

Owen Rees and the Choir of The Queen’s College, Oxford present this alongside works that alternate between the early 17th Century - by that most prolific composer and arranger of Lutheran Christmas music, Michael Praetorius - and the present: music by Judith Weir (1984), David Blackwell (2011), Jonathan Dove (2000), Dobrinka Tabakova (2018), Toby Young (2017) and Cecilia McDowall (2007). At one point the pattern is paused to look back half a millennium further than Praetorius, with Hildegard of Bingen’s O virga ac diadema.

“An undoubted jewel in Britain’s choral scene” (BBC Music Magazine), the Choir of The Queen’s College Oxford is among the finest and most active university choirs in the UK. Previous releases with Signum - ‘A New Heaven’ (2017) and ‘The House of the Mind’ (2018) - both went straight to No. 1 in the Specialist Classical Chart in their first week of release.

Gramophone Magazine December 2020
Light, agile and bright, The Queen’s Choir are a good advertisement for the traditional Oxbridge sound. Their upper voices – no countertenors here, incidentally – are fresh and agile, youthful enough to catch the innocence of Britten’s cycle without it becoming too knowing, but also have the advantage of mature technique...But it’s the newer works that are the real selling point.



Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

A Ceremony of Carols - Britten, Praetorius, McDowall, Weir, & Dove <span>-</span> Choir of the Queen's College Oxford / Rees, Owen / Wakeford, Lucy (harp) A Ceremony of Carols - Britten, Praetorius, McDowall, Weir, & Dove Choir of the Queen's College Oxford / Rees, Owen / Wakeford, Lucy (harp)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt