• SU41352 Katalognummer
  • 099925413521 EAN
  • 2CD Format
  • 1958/1964/1966/2013 Utgivelsesår

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Anč | erl, Karel

Anč | erl, Karel

Kniplová, Nadě | žda (soprano) | English, Gerald (tenor) | Cameron, John (baritone) | Šubrtová, Milada (soprano) | Soukupová, Vě | ra (alto) | Blachut, Beno (tenor)

Britten, Benjamin

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Prague Philharmonic Choir | Kühn Children’s Chorus




CD 1

Benjamin Britten

War requiem for soprano, tenor and baritone soli, chorus, orchestra, chamber orchestra, boys' choir and organ to the liturgical text of the Requiem Mass, Op. 66
1.         Requiem aeternam     09:21
2.         Dies irae     25:51
3.         Offertorium     09:29
4.         Sanctus     09:51
5.         Agnus Dei     03:41
6.         Libera me     22:23

CD 2

1.         The Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra. Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Purcell, Op. 34     17:20

Spring Symphony for soprano, alto and tenor soli, mixed chorus, boys' choir and orchestra, Op. 44
2.         Part 1 - I. Indtroduction: Shine out     09:02
3.         Part 1 - II. The merry cuckoo     02:03
4.         Part 1 - III. Spring, the sweet spring     01:41
5.         Part 1 - IV. The driving boy     01:58
6.         Part 1 - V. The morning star     03:10
7.         Part 2 - VI. Welcome maids of honour     02:43
8.         Part 2 - VII. Waters above     02:34
9.         Part 2 - VIII. Out on the lawn I lie in bed     05:52
10.         Part 3 - IX. When will my May come     02:35
11.         Part 3 - X. Fair and fair     02:36
12.         Part 3 - XI. Sound the flute     01:27
13.         Část 4 - XII. Finale: London, to thee I do present     07:43

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Benjamin Britten's music formed one of the pillars of the Czech Philharmonic's concert programmes under its chief conductor Karel Ančerl. The famous Variations on a Theme of Purcell was in all likelihood the most frequently performed work (in 1962 also in England), and this CD contains the previously unreleased 1958 recording in the original version without narration. The enchanting and joyous Spring Symphony, commissioned by Serge Koussevitzky, was presented in Czech in Prague by Ančerl, the Czech Philharmonic and the finest soloists of the time. Forming a stark contrast to these two works is the War Requiem, a grand piece commemorating the victims of the most gruesome armed conflict in human history. Britten dedicated it to the memory of four friends of his who died in WWII while serving in the British navy or army. The work's Czech premiere, with the participation of superlative foreign soloists (Gerald English, John Cameron), took place less than four years after its world premiere. So enthused was he by the work that in November 1969, following his emigration to Canada, Ančerl included the War Requiem in one of his first concerts in Toronto. The conductor's personal profound experience of the senseless barbarity of the war imbued his conception of the work with a chilling authenticity. Both of the two previously unreleased concert recordings were made by the former Czechoslovak Radio.

Britten conducted by Karel Ančerl - previously unreleased unique recordings from the Prague Radio archives!


    “[English's] elocution is in every way comparable to Peter Pears's own, the instrument even leaner and the delivery trenchantly objective…This is no the most pleasant-sounding recording of the War Requiem. It is surely, though, the one which best draws together the threads of this difficult form.“
    International Record Review, September 2013

    “The Czech premiere of the War Requiem from 1966 is raw but urgent..Collectors will be pleased to encounter leading Czech singers Naděžda Kniplová and Beno Blachut among the soloists but this set is strictly one for the historical category.“
    Gramophone, October 2013

    “English’s singing is consistently clear and incisive and Cameron has a fine, rounded tone and an excellent sense of line…[Kniplová] projects the ‘Liber scriptus’ powerfully and accurately…she’s fu­lly up to the work’s histrionic challenges…An­čerl’s directi­on of the score is impressive. He’s clearly committed to the music and he ensures that rhythms are crisply articulated.“
    MusicWeb International, 11th November 2013


Laster kommentarer ...
Ančerl Gold Edition 4. Mussorgsky, Borodin & Rimsky-Korsakov - Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Ančerl, Karel

This album has received following awards: Harmonie Award (1994) Diapason d'Or de l'Année (2002) Choc du Monde de la Musique - Le Monde de la Musique (2002) 

Ančerl Gold Edition 24. Janáček: Sinfonietta - Martinů: Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca, The Parables - Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Ančerl, Karel

This album has received following awards: DIAPASON HISTORIQUE (1993) Diapason d'Or de l' Année - Diapason Magazine (2003) Choc du Monde de la Musique - Le Monde de la Musique (2003) 


×Tips en venn

Britten: War Requiem / Young Person`s / Spring Symphony <span>-</span> Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Ančerl, Karel Britten: War Requiem / Young Person`s / Spring Symphony Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Ančerl, Karel

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt