• SU37492 Katalognummer
  • 099925374921 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2004 Utgivelsesår

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Hogwood, Christopher

Hogwood, Christopher

Martinů | , Bohuslav

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra




Bohuslav Martinů

The Amazing Flight. Mechanical Ballet, H. 159
1.         Scene 1 - A Bird. Andante moderato - Moderato     02:52
2.         Scene 2 - A Propeller. Allegro vivo     03:02
3.         Scene 3 - Maps. Poco andante - Piu moderato     03:02
4.         Scene 4 - Reflector lamps and posters. Allegro vivo - Poco meno     03:21
5.         Scene 5 - The Sea .     04:37

The Kitchen Revue. Ballet for six instruments, H. 161
6.         Prologue. Allegretto     00:36
7.         Introduction. Tempo di marche     01:13
8.         Dance of the twirling-stick around the pot. Poco meno     01:56
9.         Dance of the pot and the lid. Allegro     00:48
10.         Tango. Lento     04:01
11.         Duel. Poco a poco allegro. Tempo di Charleston     02:09
12.         Interlude. Lament of the pot. Allegro moderato     00:49
13.         Funeral march. Adagio     03:08
14.         Expansive dance .Tempo di marche     00:22
15.         End of the Story. Allegretto     03:01

Roll the Cameras! Ballet in 1 act, H. 163
16.         Ouverture     04:34
17.         The playing of the puppets. Allegretto     01:42
18.         Dance of the fishs. Allegro vivo     03:06
19.         Scene in a square. A lobster is in love with a fish - Dance     04:31
20.         Dance of a pearl. Moderato     06:47
21.         The diver abandons his equipment. Andante     01:12
22.         A lobster falls in love with a perl and courts her .......... Allegretto     02:29
23.         Finale. Allegretto moderato - Allegretto - Allegro     05:35


Like the majority of major composers, Bohuslav Martinů (1890 - 1959) did not resist the temptation, in his case in the second half of the 1920s, to respond in his own musical output to the then immensely fashionable wave of jazz inspirations which took Europe literally by storm, a flood from which music audiences have not ceased to this day to draw more than a few utterly enjoyable listening experiences. Though on the whole this was a rather less than momentous period in Martinů's life and career, a stage which can be determined with comparative precision to havelasted from 1926 - 1930, its artistic harvest does still attract attention by its bizarre character, as well as by the evident boldness of its idiom. There, the coupling of jazz with various neoclassical formulas marked in a highly original way most notably Martinů's early opera and ballet music. In that sense, Kitchen Revue, On tourne! and The Marvellous Flight, are all works which stand apart, in terms of styl, from the main stream of Martinů's music. In them, the composer invested in his scores a profusion of hyperbolic devices, caricatures, as well as a cornucopia of piquant elements interspersed throughout their librettos and music scores alike. Hence also the resilience of these works, their ever titillating, thrilling, inspiring impact - in fact, in nolittle measure corresponding to the lifestyle of our own time. The challenge posed by the Martinů ballet suites was taken up here by distinguished British conductor and specialist in preclassical music Christopher Hogwood. For its part, the Czech Philharmonic seized this opportunity with exceptional zest: the combination of unusual repertoire and prominent guest conductor spurred the orchestra up to an impressive tour de force.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Martinů: Le Raid merveilleux, La Revue de cuisine, On tourne! <span>-</span> Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Hogwood, Christopher Martinů: Le Raid merveilleux, La Revue de cuisine, On tourne! Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Hogwood, Christopher

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt