• SU40802 Katalognummer
  • 099925408022 EAN
  • 2CD Format
  • 1944-1948/2012 Utgivelsesĺr

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Kubelík, Rafael

Kubelík, Rafael

Firkusny, Rudolf (piano) | Otava, Zdeně | k (baritone)

Dvoř | ák, Antonin | Shostakovich, Dmitri | Martinů | , Bohuslav | Dobiáš, Václav

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Army Recitation Corps | Typografia Male Chorus




CD 1

Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B 163
1.         Allegro con brio     09:49
2.         Adagio     10:52
3.         Allegretto grazioso     06:42
4.         Allegro ma non troppo     10:29

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G minor, Op. 33, B 63
5.         Allegro agitato     17:21
6.         Andante sostenuto     08:48
7.         Finale. Allegro con fuoco     11:00

CD 2

Dmitry Shostakovich
Symphony No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 70
1.         Allegro     04:50
2.         Moderato     10:33
3.         Presto     04:09
4.         Largo     01:38
5.         Allegretto     06:00

Bohuslav Martinů
Symphony No. 4, H. 305
6.         Poco moderato     06:15
7.         Allegro vivo. Moderato (Trio). Allegro vivo     07:58
8.         Largo     10:16
9.         Poco allegro     07:24

10.         Memorial to Lidice for Symphony Orchestra, H. 296     09:08

Václav Dobiáš
11.         Stalingrad. Cantata for Baritone, Male Chorus and Orchestra     11:33

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Groundbreaking early recordings made by the legendary Czech conductor Rafael Kubelík

The name of Rafael Kubelík symbolically opens the Supraphon series of archival recordings featuring the most celebrated Czech conductors. Kubelík's journey to catharsis, which was represented by the legendary performance of My Country at the first liberated Prague Spring festival in 1990, lasted more than half a century. He first conducted the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra when he was twenty and at the age of twenty-eight (1942) became its chief conductor. The precious recordings on this double CD were made between 1944 and 1948, prior to Kubelík's emigration. When it comes to Dvořák's music, one of the cornerstones of the Czech Philharmonic's repertoire, unique recordings of Kubelík's singular interpretation of Symphony No. 8 and the Piano Concerto with a spellbinding performance by the young Rudolf Firkušný have been preserved. Yet Kubelík also boldly presented a contemporary repertoire. The live recording of Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9 dating from December 1945 (a mere three months after the work was completed!) is probably the very first recording of the work. The onerous experience of the war is also reflected in Martinů's Symphony No. 4. The unique recordings of the Memorial to Lidice and Dobiáš's Stalingrad cantata depict the atmosphere of a difficult time. Kubelík's recordings from the 1940s are a testament to a legendary figure who after another 40 years of conducting leading orchestras abroad would in the spring of 1990 make a triumphant return to liberated Prague.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Rafael Kubelík. Great Czech Conductors <span>-</span> Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Kubelík, Rafael Rafael Kubelík. Great Czech Conductors Czech Philharmonic Orchestra / Kubelík, Rafael

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt