• CCS39117 Katalognummer
  • 723385391173 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2017 Utgivelsesår

Hamlet Piano Trio

Beethoven, Ludwig van

Hamlet Piano Trio



Beethoven, Ludwig van:

Piano Trio No. 5 in D major, Op. 70 No. 1 'The Ghost'

Piano Trio No. 6 in E flat Major, Op. 70 No. 2

Variations in G major on Wenzel Muller's Ich bin der Schneider Kakadu, Op. 121a


Three world-class musicians decided to join forces in 2011. As the Hamlet Piano Trio their reputation grows fast worldwide. All three have earned their stripes, both as soloists and as chamber musicians. Their first release of Mendelssohn Piano Trios received international critical acclaim. On this new release they focus on Beethoven whose ‘recalcitrant talent’ filled Vienna with mixes feeling for many Viennese did not understand this new music. (...) Too brutal, too headstrong, too restless, too obtrusive. The virtuosic pianist Beethoven nonetheless pursued his career as a composer. He entirely ignored the works he wrote in Bonn, beginning to count his opus numbers in Vienna afresh from the Piano Trios opus 1. They met with harsh criticism. ‘It cannot be denied that this man goes his own way. But what a bizar and tiresome way it is! Not a single tune, everything sounds recalcitrant. Again and again in search of peculiar modulations, nasty progressions and an accumulation of problems, so that we lose all patience and joy.’ Beethoven answered curtly: ‘They don’t understand a thing’. His time was yet to come. Later on he called the critic in question ‘an ox’. (...) from: liner notes by Clemens Romijn


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Beethoven, Ludwig van Piano Trios opp. 70 & 121 <span>-</span> Hamlet Piano Trio Beethoven, Ludwig van Piano Trios opp. 70 & 121 Hamlet Piano Trio

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt