• CDA67514 Katalognummer
  • 034571175140 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2014 Utgivelsesår

Ibragimova, Alina (fiolin) | Osborne, Steven (piano)

Prokofiev, Sergei



Prokofiev: Five Melodies for Violin and Piano, Op. 35b
Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 1 in F minor, Op. 80
Prokofiev: Violin Sonata No. 2 in D major, Op. 94a

Keener, Andrew

Eadon, Simon

Velg antall  


Gramophone Magazine August 2014 Editor's Choice
BBC Music Magazine August 2014 Chamber Choice

‘One of the biggest joys of the London concert scene in recent years has been the opening up of the musical world of Alina Ibragimova, a world that seems to know no bounds … here she was partnered by Steven Osborne—a meeting of minds and talents that had that paradoxical effect, common to the best collaborations, of two strongly contrasted individuals speaking with one voice. The First Sonata really let fly … quiet but powerfully sustained in the slow music, a fount of uncorked energy in the more frequent fast sections, Ibragimova dug deep into Prokofiev’s aching heart, profiling the jagged motifs of the Allegro brusco second movement as vividly as she tore into the syncopated rhythms of the battling finale—every phrase stamped with conviction and gravitas’ (Financial Times)

Hyperion is delighted to present a collaboration—an extraordinary force on the concert platform—in its first appearance on record. Alina Ibragimova and Steven Osborne are musicians of searing, uncompromising intelligence and intense feeling.

In his works for the violin, Prokofiev produced some of his most personal and expressive music. Both of his Violin Sonatas were written for David Oistrakh. The First was begun against the backdrop of Stalin’s Great Terror, in 1938, and one senses that he drew his inspiration from the uncharacteristically dark wells of fear, despair and bereavement which were the lot of Prokofiev and his contemporaries. The Violin Sonata No 2 in D major is of a very different character—generally sunny and carefree, though still with occasional fleeting shadows from the dark world of the First Sonata. In its original form it was a Flute Sonata, Op 94, which Prokofiev had completed in 1943. At David Oistrakh’s suggestion and with his assistance, Prokofiev transcribed this Sonata to create the Second Violin Sonata, Op 94bis.

From the austere opening bars...it's clear that this violin-and-piano duo is capable of the subtlest interplay. Steven Osborne is the lion, or the demon, that needs taming by Alina Ibragimova's fiddler, dancing - sometimes ever so frailly - on the volcano. BBC *****

Two of today’s most impressive soloists unite in pieces both introspective and lyrical, and – particularly the First Sonata – deeply emotional. Musical collaboration at its most intense and thoughtful. Gramophone



Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Prokofiev: Violin Sonatas & Five Melodies <span>-</span> Ibragimova, Alina (fiolin) / Osborne, Steven (piano) Prokofiev: Violin Sonatas & Five Melodies Ibragimova, Alina (fiolin) / Osborne, Steven (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt