• BIS1748 Katalognummer
  • 7318590017487 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2011 Utgivelsesår

Iceland Symphony Orchestra | Lindberg, Christian (conductor)

Lindberg, Christian

Sandström, Jan

Iceland Symphony Orchestra



Sandström, Jan:

Indri / Cave Canem (1988)
Éra (1979–80)
Ocean Child, revised version (1999/2004)

En herrgårdssägen (A Manor Saga) - Suite for Orchestra (1987/2004):
I. Blomgrens. Moderato
II. Munkhyttan. Presto
III. Vinterstormen (The Winter Storm). Larghetto
IV. Getabocken (The He-Goat). Andante
V. Ingrid. Andante con moto

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Classics Today 10/10.

Jan Sandström (b. 1954) is among the most frequently performed Swedish composers on the international scene today. His ‘Motorbike Concerto’ for trombone and orchestra is for instance one of the most played Swedish orchestral works of all times, with more than 600 performances since its première in 1989. The Motorbike Concerto was the first major result of the collaboration between Sandström and the trombone virtuoso Christian Lindberg – a collaboration which has evolved over the years, to the point that Lindberg here conducts the Iceland Symphony Orchestra in four works reflecting Sandström’s trajectory as composer for orchestra, from Éra (1979–80) to Ocean Child in its revised 2004 version. In Sandström’s music different compositional strands co-exist: Eastern philosophy, minimalism and the world of serialism were early influences, and for many years Sandström also worked in the field of spectral music. But with the ballet En herrgårdssägen (A Manor Saga) from 1987, heard here in the form of a suite for orchestra, the composer discovered a new approach to composition, stimulated by the idea of music as narrative, an approach which culminated in Sandström’s expressed wish to ‘incorporate the whole world’ in his music. One result is Ocean Child, which was inspired by a snorkelling trip the composer made with his daughter to Thailand. Sandström himself has called the work ‘a tribute to life, to curiosity and childish naïvety’, and the result is music that is deceptively simple, yet which draws the audience in, inviting them to embark on a musical adventure.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Lindberg conducts Jan Sandström <span>-</span> Iceland Symphony Orchestra / Lindberg, Christian (conductor) Lindberg conducts Jan Sandström Iceland Symphony Orchestra / Lindberg, Christian (conductor)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt