• CDA68239 Katalognummer
  • 034571282398 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2019 Utgivelsesår

Isserlis, Steven (cello) | Mustonen, Olli (piano)

Kabalevsky, Dmitry | Prokofiev, Sergei | Shostakovich, Dmitri



Kabalevsky: Cello Sonata in B flat, Op. 71
Kabalevsky: Rondo In Memory of Sergei Prokofiev for cello and piano, Op. 79
Prokofiev: Adagio for cello & piano (from Cinderella), Op. 97bis
Prokofiev: Ballade for Cello and Piano in C minor, Op. 15
Shostakovich: Cello Sonata in D minor, Op. 40
Shostakovich: Moderato in A minor for cello & piano

Allen, Jonathan

Hinitt, David

Velg antall  


Gramophone Magazine February 2019 Editor's Choice
BBC Radio 3 Record Review 2nd February 2019 Disc of the Week

Steven Isserlis and Olli Mustonen play Shostakovich’s Cello Sonata in D Minor – deemed as ‘the most popular cello sonata of the twentieth century’ - alongside two other Russian masterpieces, from pre-revolutionary Prokofiev to Kabalevsky in the Khrushchev era.

Isserlis and his long-term colleague Olli Mustonen make a compelling case for Kabalevsky’s Cello Sonata, finding such expressive drama that for once I was not distracted by the Sonata’s obvious cribs from Shostakovich and Debussy…Isserlis and Mustonen are themselves extraordinary musicians, and both clearly believe in the music they are performing. BBC ****

Isserlis and Mustonen make a strong case for [the Kabalevsky] in a performance of grand gestures that proves a real roller coaster ride. Isserlis’s intensity and Mustonen’s pianistic weight suit the piece wonderfully well...The Shostakovich Sonata, in contrast, seems spacious and ruminative, particularly when placed beside Rostropovich’s performances with Britten at Aldeburgh...The shorter pieces are also superbly done. Gramophone



Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Shostakovich/Kabalevsky: Cello Sonatas <span>-</span> Isserlis, Steven (cello) / Mustonen, Olli (piano) Shostakovich/Kabalevsky: Cello Sonatas Isserlis, Steven (cello) / Mustonen, Olli (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt