• BIS1847 Katalognummer
  • 7318590018477 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2011 Utgivelsesår

Lahti Symphony Orchestra | Kuusisto, Jaakko (conductor)

Kuusisto, Jaakko

Kuusisto, Pekka (violin) | Hynninen, Jorma (baritone)

Kuusisto, Ilkka

Lahti Symphony Orchestra



Kuusisto, Ilkka:

Symphony No.1 (1998):
I. Andantino
II. Marcia
III. Rubato
IV. Allegro

Concertino improvvisando (2006) for violin and small orchestra:
I. Andante e rubato
II. Slow and sweet
III. Fast

Kun talo alkaa soida (1992)

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Ilkka Kuusisto began his career as a jazz pianist at the age of 15, and has since been active in a number of fields, including the theatre, as an organist, a choral conductor and as chief executive of the Finnish National Opera. As a composer he is highly eclectic. Having composed several operas, Kuusisto was invited by the conductor Osmo Vänskä to write a symphony for the Lahti Symphony Orchestra – a work which opens this disc

For his Concertino improvvisando the composer turned to his son, the violinist Pekka Kuusisto, for advice, who in turn suggested a work which included plenty of scope for improvisation.

Closing the programme is a cantata for baritone and orchestra performed by the illustrious Jorma Hynninen. The text (in Finnish) juxtaposes the Bible, the Kalevala and Schopenhauer – but the score goes even further in its generous inclusion of different genres, with pride of place given to an accordion playing popular dance rhythms.

Conducting the Lahti SO in these scores is another Kuusisto: Jaakko Kuusisto, who himself is an acclaimed violinist, as well as a conductor and composer in his own right.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Kuusisto, Ilkka: Orchestral Works <span>-</span> Lahti Symphony Orchestra / Kuusisto, Jaakko (conductor) Kuusisto, Ilkka: Orchestral Works Lahti Symphony Orchestra / Kuusisto, Jaakko (conductor)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt