• AV2452 Katalognummer
  • 822252245226 EAN
  • CD1 Format
  • 2021 Utgivelsesår
  • På lager Tilgjengelighet

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Simas, Jerome (clarinet) | Presler, Anna (violin) | Tomkins, Tanya (cello) | Zivian, Eric (piano)

Messiaen, Olivier | Rohde, Kurt

Left Coast Chamber Ensemble




Olivier Messiaen (1908 – 1992)
Quatuor pour la fin du temps
Quartet for the End of Time

1. Liturgie de cristal (Crystal liturgy) (2.43)
2. Vocalise, pour l’ange qui annonce la fin du temps (Vocalise, for the Angel who announces the end of time) (4.53)
3. Abîme des oiseaux (Abyss of the birds) (7.23)
4. Intermède (Interlude) (1.42)
5. Louange à l’éternité de Jésus (Praise to the eternity of Jesus) (8.21)
6. Danse de la fureur, pour les sept trompettes (Dance of fury, for the seven trumpets) (6.04)
7. Fouillis d’arcs-en-ciel, pour l’ange qui annonce la fin du temps (Tangle of rainbows, for the Angel who announces the end of time (7.02)
8. Louange àl’immoralité de Jésus (Praise to the immortality of Jesus) (7.12)

Kurt Rohde (b. 1966)
9. one wing * (12.45)

Total time: 58.17

Velg antall  


The provocative and beguiling Left Coast Chamber Ensemble (LCCE) comprises the crème de la crème of the San Francisco Bay Area’s musicians. Their motto: nothing is out of bounds, and anything is possible. Presenters of all types of music including small ensemble, vocal, orchestral, multi-media and operatic, a select group comes together for this recording of Olivier Messiaen’s seminal chamber work, Quartet for the End of Time. Written during the composer’s confinement in World War II, he maintained hope, expressing, “The abyss is Time with its sadness, its weariness. The birds are the opposite … our desire for light, for stars, for rainbows, and for jubilant songs.” LCCE co-founder and prize-winning composer Kurt Rohde echoes this sentiment in his Messiaen-inspired one wing for violin and piano, heard here in its world-premiere recording.

critical acclaim for Left Coast Chamber Ensemble
“pathos and passion” – San Francisco Classical Voice
“like all of Left Coast’s endeavors, the evening married standard repertoire and contemporary works in provocative and beguiling ways” – San Francisco Classical Voice


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Messiaen: Quartet for the end of Time/Rohde: One Wing Messiaen: Quartet for the end of Time/Rohde: One Wing Left Coast Chamber Ensemble

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt