Gramophone Awards 1986 Winner - Choral

  • SU40422 Katalognummer
  • 099925404222 EAN
  • 4CD/1DVD Format
  • 2010 Utgivelsesår

Gramophone Awards 1986 Winner - Choral
Les mer

Mackerras, Sir Charles

Mackerras, Sir Charles

Söderström, Elisabeth (soprano) | Drobkova, Drahomira (contralto) | Livora, Frantisek (tenor) | Novak, Richard (bass) | Hora, Jan (organ) | Nemeckova, Kvetoslava (soprano) | Vodicka, Leo Marian (tenor) | Zitek, Vaclav (baritone) | Ruzicka, Josef (piano) | Bouse, Jan (timpani) | Urbanova, Eva (soprano) | Fink, Bernarda (contralto) | Mikulas, Peter (baritone)

Janáč | ek, Leoš | Martinů | , Bohuslav

Czech Philharmonic Orchestra | Prague Symphony Orchestra | Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra | Prague Philharmonic Choir




CD 1

Leoš Janáček:
1.         Jealousy /Original Prelude to the Opera Jenufa/     05:37

The Cunning Little Vixen. Orchestral Suite from the Opera:
2.         Andante. Allegro. Stesso tempo. Meno mosso. Presto. Tempo I     09:19
3.         Andante. Moderato. Allegro     10:21

Šárka. Opera in 3 Acts:
4.         Overture     04:11

Taras Bulba. Rhapsody for Orchestra after N.V.Gogol's Novel
5.         The Death of Andrei     08:15
6.         The Death of Ostap     05:23
7.         The Prophecy and Death of Taras Bulba     09:19

CD 2

Káťa Kabanova. Opera in 3 Acts:
1.         Act 1, Introduction     04:22
2.         Act 1 - Intermezzo     01:20
3.         Act 2 - Intermezzo     01:07

Schluck und Jau. Music to Gerthart Hauptmann's Play:
4.         Andante     04:09
5.         Allegretto     05:10

6.         Allegretto     02:15
7.         Andante     05:52
8.         Moderato     05:23
9.         Allegretto     03:01
10.         Andante con moto. Allegretto     07:35

11.         Interview with Sir Charles Mackerras.
About his life with music, conducting, orchestras and passion for Dvořák and Janáček     12:28

CD 3

Leoš Janáček:
Glagolitic Mass for Chorus, Soloists, Orchestra and Organ after an Old Slavonic Text:
1.         Introduction / Introitus     02:58
2.         Gospodi pomiluj / Kyrie eleison     03:20
3.         Slava / Gloria     06:32
4.         Věruju / Credo     11:36
5.         Svet / Sanctus     06:33
6.         Agneče Božij / Agnus Dei     04:57
7.         Postludium     02:36
8.         Intrada     01:52

Amarus. Cantata for Soloists, Mixed Chorus and Orchestra:
9.         I. Moderato - II, Andante (att.)     04:33
10.         Andante (att.)     07:24
11.         Moderato     08:18
12.         Adagio     03:42
13.         Epilog     05:33

CD 4

Bohuslav Martinů:
Orchestral suite from the Opera Juliette (The Key to Dreams) for Large Orchestra, H. 253 B:
1.         Poco andante     04:54
2.         Vivo     04:00
3.         Lento     04:30

4.         Field Mass for Male Chorus with Baritone Solo and Orchestra, H. 279     25:06

Double Concerto for Two String Orchestras, Piano and Timpani H. 271:
5.         Poco Allegro     06:27
6.         Largo     08:32
7.         Allegro     06:50

Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca for Large Orchestra, H. 352:
8.         Andante poco moderato     06:45
9.         Adagio     05:51
10.         Poco allegro     05:03


Leoš Janáček:
Glagolitic Mass for soloists, chorus, orchestra and organ after an old Slavonic text, 1st version:
1.         Intrada     01:50
2.         Introduction / Introitus     03:50
3.         Gospodi pomiluj / Kyrie eleison     04:50
4.         Slava / Gloria     06:30
5.         Věruju / Credo     11:20
6.         Svet / Sanctus     05:50
7.         Agneče Božij / Agnus Dei     04:20
8.         Postludium     04:20
9.         Intrada     02:20

10.         Jealousy /Original Overture to the Opera Jenufa/     06:13

Taras Bulba. Rhapsody for Orchestra
11.         The Death of Andri     10:20
12.         The Death of Ostap     04:30
13.         The Prophecy and Death of Taras Bulba     10:10

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


"He was an amazing musician. There can be very few conductors who can manage stylistically the breadth that he did. But I think my favourite contributionfrom him was bringing Czech music to the West." This is the opera star Renée Fleming's glowing description of Sir Charles Mackerras, whose long and incredibly fruitful conducting careerand life ended at the age of 84 this July. Indeed, over the past few decades Czech music has not had a more vigorous advocate and champion in the world, nor a greater fan and connoisseur. "I am a great fan of Dvořák's music because it always seemed to me that, apart from Mozart, Dvořák is the greatest composer... He wrote these symphonies, he wrote tone poems, he wrote operas, he wrote chamber music, he wrote songs, he wrote religious music, everything... He's just the greatest composer, except Mozart perhaps." Throughout the music world, Mackerras'os name is synonymous with Czech music itself - Janáček in particular. Sir Charles fatefully encountered Janáček during the very first days of his studies with Václav Talich in Prague. Subsequently, he introduced Janáček to the wider world. "Nobody needs me to say that Mozart and Handel are great composers, whereas they did need somebody to say that Janáček is a great composer too, and that's what I did. If I have achieved anything in my life, it is the propagation of Janáček." Supraphon had the truly great honour of co-operating with this superlative conductor until the very end. The albums featuring the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in particular have captured Mackerras's vision of a wide scale of works by the four greatest Czech composers. The list of awards these recordings have received is long... Let us then instead spend our time listening to his musical legacy on these CDs, which Supraphon with respect and love for SirCharles presents to all those who would like to recollect this great man.

Sir Charles Mackerras - the conductor who brought Czech music to the wider world. His complete non-operatic recordings for Supraphon.


    “Even the recording acoustic is warm, enough sometimes to curl the music’s edges and smudge away little details. But Mackerras’s han­dling of this repertoire is so fresh, so responsive to the folk-music gestures embedded within, that you still listen beaming…No matter what the new year brings, these commemorative boxes should give comfort and joy.“
    The times, 17th December 2010


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Life with Czech Music / Janáček, Martinů <span>-</span> Mackerras, Sir Charles Life with Czech Music / Janáček, Martinů Mackerras, Sir Charles

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt