• SU43132 Katalognummer
  • 099925431327 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2023 Utgivelsesår

Matejca, Daniel

Ysa˙e, Eugene | Vörösova, Jana




EUGÈNE YSAŸE (1858–1931)

Sonata for solo violin in G minor, Op. 27 No. 1
1/ I. Grave. Lento assai
2/ II. Fugato. Molto moderato
3/ III. Allegro poco scherzoso. Amabile
4/ IV. Finale con brio. Allegro fermo

Sonata for solo violin in A minor, Op. 27 No. 2
5/ I. Prelude "Obsession". Poco vivace
6/ II. Malinconia. Poco lento
7/ III. Sarabende "Danse des ombres". Lento
8/ IV. Les Furies. Allegro furioso

Sonata for solo violin in D minor, Op. 27 No. 3, "Ballade"
9/ I. Lento molto sostenuto – Allegro in tempo giusto e con bravura

Sonata for solo violin in E minor, Op. 27 No. 4
10/ I. Allemande. Lento maestoso
11/ II. Sarabande. Quasi lento
12/ III. Finale. Presto ma non troppo

Sonata for solo violin in G major, Op. 27 No. 5
13/ I. L'Aurore. Lento assai
14/ II. Danse rustique. Allegro giocoso molto moderato

Sonata for solo violin in E major, Op. 27 No. 6
15/ Allegro giusto non troppo vivo

16/ Obsession II for Violin solo (2022)

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


“The artist's first task is to forget himself.” This statement, bold in its time, has been ascribed to Eugène Ysaÿe, referred to as the “King of the Violin”, who as a composer and performer considerably contributed to the modernisation of violin playing. In 1923, he was so deeply impressed by J. S. Bach’s Violin Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001, as performed by Joseph Szigeti, that within a few hours (!) he sketched a set of six sonatas as a counterpart to Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas, BWV 1001-1006. Ysaÿe dedicated each of his sonatas to a superb contemporary violinist, tailoring it to his style. Technically reaching the limits of the instrument, the pieces placed enormous requirements on the dedicatees (Szigeti, Thibaud, Enescu, Kreisler, Crickboom, Quiroga), yet they remain challenging for the violinists of today. One hundred years after Ysaÿe created the set of six sonatas, this formidable task has been undertaken by the outstanding young Czech virtuoso Daniel Matejča, the winner of the Eurovision Young Musicians competition (2022), Telemann Violin Competition (Poznan 2020) and Jugend musiziert (Halle 2019). Matejča studied with such distinguished violinists as Boris Belkin and Christian Tetzlaff, and, after collaborating to acclaim with the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, has been invited to perform with other renowned orchestras. Supraphon has shifted the 100-year-old concept to the 21st century and commissioned a composition that would reflect Ysaÿe’s sonatas, as well as young violinists’ musicality and virtuosity. Jana Vöröšová’s Obsession II is both answer and challenge.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Ysa˙e: Six Sonatas for Solo Violin <span>-</span> Matejca, Daniel Ysa˙e: Six Sonatas for Solo Violin Matejca, Daniel

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt