• SU36572 Katalognummer
  • 099925365721 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2002 Utgivelsesår

Prague Chamber Choir | Musica Bohemica | Krč | ek, Jaroslav

Krč | ek, Jaroslav

Otradovic, Adam Václav Michna z

Prague Chamber Choir | Musica Bohemica




Adam Václav Michna z Otradovic

The Czech Lute
1.         Foreword     02:44
2.         The Calling of a Spiritual Bride     03:46
3.         The Glorious Gift of the Mother of God     01:39
4.         Wedding Ring     02:32
5.         Virgin Love     02:27
6.         Farewell to the World     03:02
7.         Spiritual Wedding Purgation     02:24
8.         Spiritual Dowry     05:55
9.         Angel Friendship     02:38
10.         Bridal Wreath     03:19
11.         Wedding Day     02:20
12.         The Fight between the Soul and the Body     02:09
13.         The Grief of the Foolish Virgins     02:51

The Czech Music for the Virgin Mary /1647/
14.         The Christmas Magnet and the Archer     02:34
15.         Christmas Dew     04:19
16.         Christmas Cradle and Baby Rocking     02:13
17.         Christmas Eve     04:53
18.         Christmas Joy     02:25
19.         Christmas Greetings     02:10
20.         Christmas Inn     01:46

The Music of the Holy Year
21.         Salutation to the Baby Jesus     03:54
22.         Another Song on the Birth of Jesus     02:00
23.         The Nightingale from Heaven Sweetly Sings the Praises of God and His Wonderous Birth     01:13


Adam Michna (1600-76) is one of the most significant compositional personalities of the Czech baroque. He lived most of his life in Jindřichův Hradec, from where he set out on only a few longer journeys. He apparently assimilated the elements of Italianmusic from the Jesuit schools, with which he held good contacts from the time of his studies - most of his compositions were published by the Klementinum, a Prague Jesuit institution. While the Czech Marian Music (1647) and Music for the Liturgical Year (1661) remind us of the music from traditional hymn books, The Czech Lute on Holidays, on Friday, in the Church, at the table, and as one wishes for any time, for pleasure, for devotion, composed and published by Michna of Otradovice from Jindřichův Hradec in the year 1653 - this is the whole title of the collection - comes much closer to a modern cycle of love songs. They were originally written for two voices, two violins, three viols, and continuo, but because the violin and viol parts are not extant,the collection has been presented in recent times in the sensitive and scholarly instrumentation of Jaroslav Krček. Michna is a pronounced idealist and lyricist, and his Christmas pastoral poetry, which comprises of one-third of this collection, is particularly warm and sensitive. This music, with its characteristic Czech folk simplicity and clear, periodically divided melodies, has much to say to today's listener.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Michna: The Czech Lute <span>-</span> Prague Chamber Chorus / Musica Bohemica / Krček, Jaroslav Michna: The Czech Lute Prague Chamber Chorus / Musica Bohemica / Krček, Jaroslav

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt