• CDA67871 Katalognummer
  • 034571178714 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2012 Utgivelsesår

Roscoe, Martin (piano)

Dohnányi, Ernö



Dohnányi: 3 Singular Pieces, Op. 44
Dohnányi: Coppélia Waltz
Dohnányi: Four Rhapsodies, Op. 11
Dohnányi: Pastorale
Dohnányi: Winterreigen, Op. 13

Hayes, Jeremy

Connellan, Ben

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Ernö Dohnányi was one of the most extraordinary polymaths in musical history: director of the Franz Liszt Academy, conductor of the Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra, music director of Hungarian Radio, he was also revered as a teacher—anyone who was anyone in Hungary was taught by him, not least Georg Solti. Dohnányi was also one of the finest pianists of his generation. As a pianist-composer his music grew out of the tradition of both Liszt, his compatriot, and Brahms, but his command of instrumental colour and rhythmic élan is all his own.

This volume, the first of a complete survey from Martin Roscoe, encompasses nearly half a century of Dohnányi’s composing life, from the trenchant virtuosity of the Four Rhapsodies to the wit of the late Three Singular Pieces.

Martin Roscoe’s previous recordings for Hyperion reflect his eclectic interests, from Bach transcriptions to the complete piano music of Nielsen and no fewer than four volumes in the Romantic Piano Concerto series.

[in the Rhapsodies] Dohnányi musters a highly expressive language, contrasting the dark and melancholic introversion in the second and fourth rhapsodies with the more playful and heroic moods that characterise the third. Martin Roscoe performs these memorable virtuosic showpieces with tremendous panache and musical sensitivity. BBC *****

The auspices are good even before you press the play button...The Four Rhapsodies, while having almost identical timings to Roscoe's first-rate earlier performances, are now more subtly characterised...this is a particularly happy start to the series. Gramophone

[Roscoe's] immaculate pianism, probing musical imagination and, above all, sympathy with Dohnanyi's expressive ways and means make him the ideal interpreter for such a comprehensive retrospective. This first instalment, quite a pleasure in and of itself, whets the appetite for more. Int. Record Review



Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Dohnányi: The Complete Solo Piano Music, Vol. 1 <span>-</span> Roscoe, Martin (piano) Dohnányi: The Complete Solo Piano Music, Vol. 1 Roscoe, Martin (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt