• CDA68190 Katalognummer
  • 034571281902 EAN
  • 1CD Format
  • 2017 Utgivelsesår

BBC Symphony Orchestra | Brabbins, Martyn

Brabbins, Martyn

Watts, Elizabeth (soprano) | Bevan, Mary (soprano) | Whately, Kitty (mezzo-soprano)

Williams, Ralph Vaughan

BBC Symphony Orchestra | Royal College of Music Brass Band



Vaughan Williams: Orpheus With His Lute
Vaughan Williams: Sound sleep
Vaughan Williams: Symphony No. 2 'A London Symphony'
Vaughan Williams: Variations for Brass Band

Keener, Andrew

Eadon, Simon


Gramophone Magazine November 2017 Editor's Choice

Vaughan Williams’s London Symphony (the composer’s favourite of the nine) makes a rare appearance in its 1920 first publication. Three lesser-known works complete a highly desirable programme, while Martyn Brabbins and the BBC Symphony Orchestra understand how this music should be played like few others. This is mandatory listening.

Brabbins masterminds a superbly involving account...Clocking in at around 52 minutes, it’s a canvas of thrilling sweep, evocative power and vaulting ambition...Above all, Brabbins exhibits a very real love for this remarkable score...The fill-ups are a joy, too. Elizabeth Watts makes a radiant showing in Orpheus With His Lute...An irresistible anthology, in sum. Gramophone

Brabbins conducts the [Symphony] with a sense of purposeful directness, likeably enhanced by the expressive warmth of the BBC Symphony Orchestra’s response. BBC ****



Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony & other works <span>-</span> BBC Symphony Orchestra / Brabbins, Martyn Vaughan Williams: A London Symphony & other works BBC Symphony Orchestra / Brabbins, Martyn

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt