• BIS2178 Katalognummer
  • 7318599921785 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2016 Utgivelsesår

Arctic Philharmonic | Lindberg, Christian (conductor)

Lindberg, Christian

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr

Arctic Philharmonic




Tchaikovsky, Pyotr

Disc 1

Symphony No. 4 in F minor:
I. Andante sostenuto - Moderato con anima
II. Andantino in modo di canzona
III. Scherzo. Pizzicato ostinato. Allegro
IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco

Symphony No.6 in B minor (Pathétique):
I. Adagio - Allegro non troppo
II. Allegro con grazia
III. Allegro molto vivace
IV. Adagio lamentoso

Disc 2

Symphony No.5 in E minor (1888):
I. Andante - Allegro con anima
II. Andante cantabile, con alcuna licenza
III. Valse. Allegro moderato
IV. Finale. Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace


Tchaikovsky’s final three symphonies form an emotional roller-coaster ride with the most desperate lows (the first movement of the Fourth) and hectic highs (the Finale of the Fifth) before arriving at the resigned lament that is the closing Adagio of the Sixth. As the composer himself readily admitted, he had little interest in writing ‘abstract’ music – to his colleague and friend Taneyev he wrote. ‘I should not wish symphonic works to flow from my pen that express nothing, and which consist of empty playing with chords, rhythms and modulations.’ This has given rise to numerous speculations and attempts to interpret Tchaikovsky’s works, and especially these symphonies, in terms of events in his personal life. While the fruitfulness of such an approach is debatable, it is certain that the immediate appeal of the music itself has caused these symphonies to become favourites with musicians and listeners alike.
On the present two-disc set, it is Christian Lindberg and his Arctic Philharmonic, based in the far north of Norway, that perform the symphonies. While the recordings of the Fourth and Sixth appear for the first time on disc, that of Symphony No. 5 has been previously released (on BIS-2018) on a disc that earned international praise: ‘a superb performance’ was the verdict of the critic in International Record Review, while the French magazine Diapason accorded it top marks.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Tchaikovsky, Pyotr: Symphonies Nos 4-6 <span>-</span> Arctic Philharmonic / Lindberg, Christian (conductor) Tchaikovsky, Pyotr: Symphonies Nos 4-6 Arctic Philharmonic / Lindberg, Christian (conductor)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt