• BISSACD1759 Katalognummer
  • 7318599917597 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2009 Utgivelsesår

Bezaly, Sharon (flute)

Yiu-kwong, Chung

Yiu-kwong, Chung | Yu-xian, Deng | arr. Chunquan, Qu | Yijun, Huang | arr. Xiuwen, Peng | Shui-long, Ma | arr. Hsuan-ho, Chen | Traditional | arr. Chenglong, Zhou

Taipei Chinese Orchestra



Yiu-kwong, Chung

Whirling Dance for flute and Chinese orchestra

Concerto for Flute and Chinese Orchestra:
I. Molto espressivo – Allegro ma non troppo
II. Molto placido – Più mosso – Molto placido
III. Allegro con brio

Traditional/ arr. Chenglong, Zhou: The Thivats of Autumn (arr. for flute and small Chinese instrumental ensemble)

Shui-long, Ma/ arr. Hsuan-ho, Chen
Bamboo Flute Concerto:
I. Andante grandioso – Allegretto con gioco
II. Adagio cantabile
III. Finale. Allegretto con gioco

Yijun, Huang / arr. Xiuwen, Peng: Fair Flowers under Full Moon (arr. for piccolo and Chinese orchestra)
Yu-xian, Deng / arr. Chunquan, Qu: Longing for the Spring Breeze

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Classics Today 10/10, Disc of the Month; BBC Music Magazine: outstanding.

Transverse flutes made of bamboo have been important in Chinese music for more than 2000 years. It should therefore not come as a surprise that flutist Sharon Bezaly, known for her imaginative choice of repertoire, has looked eastwards in her search for new musical horizons, nor that she has received a warm welcome. Together with the Taipei Chinese Orchestra and composer-conductor Chung Yiu-Kwong, she explores the sonic possibilities of the combination of Western flute and Chinese instruments such as erhu, guzheng, yangqin and zhongruan. The sparkling and whirling dance that we are invited to join includes two newly composed works by Chung Yiu-Kwong, both dedicated to the soloist, as well as an fascinating exercise in the art of musical arrangement: the conversion of Ma Shui-Long’s concerto for bamboo flute and symphony orchestra into a concerto for piccolo and Chinese orchestra. Of the remaining three shorter works, The Thivats of Autumn is an arrangement for chamber ensemble of a traditional Chinese classical tune for pipa, depicting the sadness experienced by Wang Zhaojun, one of ‘The Four Beauties’ of ancient China, as she is forced to by the Emperor Yuan (48-33 BC) to marry a foreign ruler and leave her country. The original compositions that serve as basis for the arrangements of Fair Flowers under Full Moon and Longing for the Spring Breeze are both of more recent date, composed during the 1930s in Shanghai and on Taiwan respectively. Highly colourful and atmospheric, they make a perfect send-off to a programme as vibrant as a Chinese New Year’s parade.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Whirling Dance - Works for Flute and Traditional Chinese Orchestra <span>-</span> Bezaly, Sharon (flute) Whirling Dance - Works for Flute and Traditional Chinese Orchestra Bezaly, Sharon (flute)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt