• BIS2530 Katalognummer
  • 7318599925301 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2020 Utgivelsesår

Cakmur, Can (piano)

Liszt, Franz | Schubert, Franz




Franz Liszt
      Schwanengesang, Vierzehn Lieder von Franz Schubert, S 560     59'41     
    01     Liebesbotschaft     3'30
    02     Kriegers Ahnung     6'19
    03     Ihr Bild     2'43
    04     Frühlingssehnsucht     2'32
    05     Abschied     5'32
    06     In der Ferne     6'41
    07     Ständchen     5'57
    08     Der Atlas     2'44
    09     Das Fischermädchen     3'29
    10     Am Meer     4'10
    11     Aufenthalt     3'18
    12     Die Stadt     2'51
    13     Der Doppelgänger     4'34
    14     Die Taubenpost     5'21
      Quatre Valses oubliées, S 215     20'22     
    15     Première Valse oubliée     3'27
    16     Deuxième Valse oubliée     7'03
    17     Troisième Valse oubliée     5'45
    18     Quatrième Valse oubliée     4'07
      Album total     80'12

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Franz Liszt’s arrangement of Schubert’s Schwanengesang is very much his own work: while it very clearly retains the musical meaning of the original it also provides a vision of Liszt’s understanding of what lies beyond the black dots on paper. In the young Turkish pianist Can Çakmur’s words, Liszt’s ‘songs without words’ are ‘striking, horrifying, grand, intimate, full of life and yet often as pale as death. The marvel of what a single instrument can attain plays an integral role in all these pieces.’

Published posthumously, Schwanengesang is a collection of songs that Schubert may have intended to be grouped together, but if so he never provided a definitive order. In his arrangement, Liszt adopted an order of his own, and Çakmur takes the same liberty, seeking ‘to arrive at a sequence which presents not a storyline but an emotional journey. Liebesbotschaft and Taubenpost constitute the prelude and the conclusion to the cycle: the one focussing on the poet’s promise to return to his lover while the other embraces longing with glistening tears. Longing (Sehnsucht) is the very feeling that drives the cycle, for it carries both hope and disappointment within itself.’

The Liszt arrangement was first published in 1840, twelve years after Schubert’s death, and Çakmur contrasts it here with the much later ‘forgotten’ waltzes, Quatre Valses oubliées. As most of Liszt’s late music they are elusive, and Çakmur describes them as ‘possibly wistful, sardonic or melancholic – or perhaps all at once.’ Winner of the 2018 Hamamatsu International Piano Competition, Can Çakmur released his début disc in 2019, receiving praise for his technical prowess and sensibility alike – qualities that come well in hand for his new Liszt recital.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Schubert: Schwanengesang (arr. Liszt) <span>-</span> Cakmur, Can (piano) Schubert: Schwanengesang (arr. Liszt) Cakmur, Can (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt