• BIS2372 Katalognummer
  • 7318599923727 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2019 Utgivelsesår

Gluzman, Vadim (violin) | Moser, Johannes (cello) | Sudbin, Yevgeny (piano)

Babajanian, Arno | Schnittke, Alfred | Tchaikovsky, Pyotr



Tchaikovksy, Pyotr: Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50:
I. Pezzo elegiaco
II. A. Tema con variazioni: Tema. Andante con moto
Variations I - XI
B. Variazione Finale e Coda

Babajanian, Arno: Piano Trio (1952):
I. Largo - Allegro espressivo
II. Andante
III. Allegro vivace

Schnittke, Alfred: Tango from the opera Life with an Idiot (arr. Yevgeny Sudbin)

Velg antall  


In Russian chamber music, a rather special tradition evolved around the piano trio, with a number of composers turning to the genre to write ‘instrumental requiems’. First out was Tchaikovsky with his Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50, ‘à la mémoire d’un grand artiste’, and he was followed by composers such as Rachmaninov, Arensky and Shostakovich. In the case of Tchaikovsky’s trio, the ‘grand artiste’ was the pianist Nikolai Rubinstein, and Tchaikovsky chose the trio genre as he felt that a piece for solo piano would be too lightweight and one with orchestral accompaniment would be too showy. The work is in two movements, a Pezzo elegiaco (‘elegiac piece’) and a set of variations, and it begins with the cello playing a moving lament which sets the tone for the entire first movement. The theme returns at the end of the second movement in the form of an impassioned funeral march.

Seventy years later, when the Armenian composer and pianist Arno Babajanian (1921—83) wrote his Piano Trio in F sharp minor, he didn’t give it any subtitle, but there’s a grandeur and breadth of scale which rivals Tchaikovsky’s work – and the second movement is thoroughly elegiac in character. The trio is Babajanian’s best-known work, composed in the Romantic style of Rachmaninov, but also rooted in Armenian folk music, melodically as well as rhythmically. Performing the two works are Vadim Gluzman and Yevgeny Sudbin, both with Russian roots, joined by cellist Johannes Moser, and the three close the disc with Sudbin’s arrangement of a brief Tango by Alfred Schnittke.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Tchaikovsky & Babajanian: Piano Trios <span>-</span> Gluzman, Vadim (violin) / Moser, Johannes (cello) / Sudbin, Yevgeny (piano) Tchaikovsky & Babajanian: Piano Trios Gluzman, Vadim (violin) / Moser, Johannes (cello) / Sudbin, Yevgeny (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt