• BIS2449 Katalognummer
  • 7318599924496 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2020 Utgivelsesår

Houston, Joseph (piano) | Quatuor Diotima

Simaku, Thomas

Quatuor Diotima




Thomas Simaku
      Catena I, for solo piano (2019)     12'58     
    01     I. Andante remoto, con espressione     4'21
    02     II. Furioso     1'34
    03     III. Scorrevole     0'37
    04     IV. Spaziale     2'36
    05     V. Energico, tempo preciso     3'50
      String Quartet No. 5 (2015)     16'51     
    06     Spaziale - Adagio doloroso, desolato, sempre spaziale     6'29
    07     Vigoroso, preciso - Quasi angelico - Vigoroso brutale     5'09
    08     Sospeso - Più mosso - Ancora più mosso     5'13
      L’image oubliée d’après Debussy, for solo piano (2018)         
    09     L’image oubliée d’après Debussy     7'18
      con-ri-sonanza, for piano and string quartet (2018)         
    10     con-ri-sonanza     13'13
      Hommage à Kurtág, for solo piano (2011)         
    11     Hommage à Kurtág     7'57
      String Quartet No. 4 (2010—11)     22'52     
    12     I. Adagio remoto - Allegro preciso     4'07
    13     II. Calmo - Ritmico     4'45
    14     Interlude I     1'33
    15     III. Lento assai     4'07
    16     Interlude II     0'57
    17     IV. Adagio remoto, scorrevole     7'23
      Album total     81'15

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Born in Albania in 1958, Thomas Simaku studied composition at the State Conservatory of Music in Tirana. He moved to England in 1991, where he was able to immerse himself in the music that had been banned in his native country, and especially that of Ligeti and Kurtág. This, as well as his earlier experience of working with Albanian folk musicians, had a lasting effect on his own music – but as Simaku himself puts it: ‘when it comes to creativity, one should at least try to speak with one’s voice, however small that might be.’ He often composes for specific performers and the present disc highlights his collaborations with Quatuor Diotima and with the pianist Joseph Houston.

Catena I, the opening work as well as the most recent one on the programme, was written for Houston, while the String Quartets Nos. 4 and 5 were destined for Diotima, of which Simaku has said that ‘one cannot fail to notice their individual and sensitive approach to sound and colour, and their huge range of expression. I have tried to embody these idiosyncratic qualities in both quartets.’ Houston also plays two works written by Simaku as tokens of his respect for two composer colleagues: L’image oubliée d’après Debussy and Hommage à Kurtág. These frame the piano quintet con-ri-sonanza which has also given its name to the entire disc, after the sonic qualities it embodies: consonanza, risonanza, con risonanza …


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Simaku: con-ri-sonanza - Chamber Works <span>-</span> Houston, Joseph (piano) / Quatuor Diotima Simaku: con-ri-sonanza - Chamber Works Houston, Joseph (piano) / Quatuor Diotima

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt