• CCSSA35214 Katalognummer
  • 723385352143 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2014 Utgivelsesår

Magdalena Consort | Harvey, Peter

Harvey, Peter

Thomas, Elin Manahan (soprano) | Taylor, Daniel (countertenor) | Gilchrist, James (tenor)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Magdalena Consort



Bach, Johann Sebastian: Cantatas: Recreation For The Soul:

Cantata BWV78 'Jesu der du meine Seele':
I. Jesu, der du meine Seele
II. Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten
III. Ach! Ich bin ein Kind der Sünden
IV. Das Blut, so meine Schuld durchstreicht
V. Die Wunden, Nägel, Kron und Grab
VI. Nur du wirst mein Gewissen stillen
VII. Herr, ich glaube, hilf mir Schwachen

Cantata BWV150 'Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich':
I. Sinfonia
II. Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich
III. Doch bin und bliebe ich vergnügt
IV. Leite mich in deiner Wahrheit
V. Zedern müssen von den Winden
VI. Meine Augen sehen stets zu dem Herrn
VII. Meine Tage in dem Leide

Cantata BWV147 'Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben'
I. Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben
II. Gebenedeiter Mund
III. Schüme disch, o Seele, nicht
IV. Verstockung kann Gewaltige verblenden
V. Bereite dir, Jesu, noch itzo die Bahn
VI. Wohl mir, dass ich Jesum habe
VII. Hilf, Jesu, hilf, dass ich auch dich bekenne
VIII. Der höchsten Allmacht Wunderhand
IX. Ich will von Jesu Wundern singen
X. Jesus bleibet meine Freude

Velg antall  


Bach's ambition to compose a body of 'well-regulated church music' – liturgical music for the entire church calendar – produced a wealth of sacred cantatas. Around two hundred have survived, and are an eloquent expression of his opinion that 'true music should be for the honour of God and the recreation of the soul'. That comment – made with respect to the art of realising a figured-bass (where harmony is indicated by numbers) – seems appropriate to this collection, since the choice of these glorious works was influenced by a consideration of number symbolism and other extramusical devices. That this most cerebral music touches the emotions so keenly might seem a paradox, but as a performer, analysing the possible thinking behind Bach's musical decisions brings the composer closer. (Peter Harvey, liner notes)

The Magdalena Consort was founded in 2008 by Peter Harvey and is acclaimed for its virtuoso chamber performances of sacred vocal music from Monteverdi to Bach. In addition to using period instruments, the group aims to perform with historically appropriate numbers of players and singers, which encourages the chamber-music approach which is central to its vivid sound. Joshua Rifkin was the first to argue that Bach commonly performed his vocal works with one singer per part, rather than employ a 'choir' in the traditional sense, and it is this approach that the Magdalena Consort adopts. It is fair to say that there is still a healthy debate surrounding the question, but, from a performer's perspective, this approach facilitates communication between the performers so that the counterpoint – the independence of individual musical lines which so strongly characterises Bach's music – can be enjoyed with the maximum freedom. The singers associated with the Magdalena Consort are well established as international soloists, besides having considerable experience of ensemble singing, and the instrumentalists are drawn from some of the world's best-known period instrument orchestras and chamber groups.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Bach Cantatas: Recreation For The Soul <span>-</span> Magdalena Consort / Harvey, Peter Bach Cantatas: Recreation For The Soul Magdalena Consort / Harvey, Peter

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt