• BIS2506 Katalognummer
  • 7318599925066 EAN
  • 4SACD Format
  • 2020 Utgivelsesår

Minnesota Orchestra | Vänskä, Osmo

Vänskä, Osmo

Hakala, Tommi (baritone) | Paasikivi, Lilli (mezzo)

Sibelius, Jean

Minnesota Orchestra | YL Male Voice Choir




Disc 1
      Jean Sibelius
      Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39     35'05     
    01     I. Andante, ma non troppo - Allegro energico     9'45
    02     II. Andante (ma non troppo lento)     8'51
    03     III. Scherzo. Allegro – Lento (ma non troppo) – Tempo I     4'36
    04     IV. Finale (Quasi una fantasia). Andante – Allegro molto     11'53
      Symphony No.4 in A minor, Op. 63     38'58     
    05     I. Tempo molto moderato, quasi adagio     12'02
    06     II. Allegro molto vivace     4'26
    07     III. Il tempo largo     13'12
    08     IV. Allegro     9'18
Disc 2
      Symphony No. 2 in D major Op. 43     46'36     
    01     I. Allegretto     9'19
    02     II. Tempo Andante, ma rubato     16'30
    03     III. Vivacissimo - Lento e soave - attacca -     5'48
    04     IV. Finale. Allegro moderato     14'59
      Symphony No. 5 in E flat major Op. 82     31'20     
    05     I. Tempo molto moderato - Allegro moderato     13'20
    06     II. Andante mosso, quasi allegretto     8'37
    07     III. Allegro molto - Largamente assai     9'23
Disc 3
      Symphony No. 3 in C major, Op. 52     30'08     
    01     I. Allegro moderato     10'21
    02     II. Andantino con moto, quasi allegretto     10'43
    03     III. Moderato - Allegro (ma non tanto)     9'04
      Symphony No.6 in D minor, Op.104     29'15     
    04     I. Allegro molto moderato     9'12
    05     II. Allegretto moderato     6'59
    06     III. Poco vivace     3'47
    07     IV. Allegro molto     9'17
      Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105         
    08     Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op. 105, in one movement     22'33
Disc 4
      Kullervo, Op. 7     79'58     
    01     I. Introduction. Allegro moderato     12'54
    02     II. Kullervo’s Youth. Grave     19'17
    03     III. Kullervo and his Sister. Allegro vivace     26'09
    04     IV. Kullervo Goes to War. Alla marcia     9'49
    05     V. Kullervo’s Death. Andante     11'49
      Album total     314'14

Velg antall  


Osmo Vänskä has been described as ‘our greatest living Sibelian’ (The Sunday Times, UK), a reputation which is founded not least on his two symphony cycles on disc, both released by BIS. The first one was recorded in 1996-97 with the Lahti Symphony Orchestra, and firmly established Vänskä as a force to be reckoned with. 14 years later he returned to the studio for a second cycle, now with the Minnesota Orchestra, of which he has been music director since 2003.

The Minnesota recordings were released on three discs during the years 2012 – 2016 to critical acclaim: besides top marks from reviewers around the world, the series garnered distinctions such as Editor’s Choice (Gramophone), Orchestral Choice (BBC Music Magazine) and Recording of the month (MusicWeb International). The disc of Symphonies Nos 2 and 5 was included on the New York Times list of the Best Classical Music Recordings of 2012 and nominated to a Grammy for Best Orchestral Recording, an award which its sequel (Nos 1 & 4) received the following year. Recommended by the German web site Klassik.com upon its release, the final disc, with Symphonies Nos 3, 6 and 7, was recently included on Gramophone’s list of ‘Top 10 Sibelius recordings’. The three discs have now been gathered into a box set, with the addition of the same team’s 2016 live recording of Kullervo, Sibelius’s first large-scale orchestral work and sometimes called his ‘choral symphony’.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Sibelius: The Seven Symphonies; Kullervo <span>-</span> Minnesota Orchestra / Vänskä, Osmo Sibelius: The Seven Symphonies; Kullervo Minnesota Orchestra / Vänskä, Osmo

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt