• BIS2147 Katalognummer
  • 7318599921471 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2017 Utgivelsesår

Plowright, Jonathan (piano)

Brahms, Johannes



Brahms, Johannes:

Piano Sonata No.1 in C major, Op. 1:
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Scherzo. Allegro molto e con fuoco
IV. Finale. Allegro con fuoco

Fantasies, Op. 116:
I. Capriccio in D minor. Presto energico
II. Intermezzo in A minor. Andante
III. Capriccio in G minor. Allegro passionato
IV. Intermezzo in E major. Adagio
V. Intermezzo in E minor. Andante con grazia ed intimissimo sentimento
VI. Intermezzo in E major. Andantino teneramente
VII. Capriccio in D minor. Allegro agitato

Variations on a Theme by Robert Schumann in F sharp minor, Op.9:
Thema. Ziemlich langsam
Variation I. L’istesso tempo
Variation II. Poco più mosso
Variation III. Tempo di tema
Variation IV. Poco più mosso
Variation V. Allegro capriccioso
Variation VI. Allegro
Variation VII. Andante
Variation VIII. Andante (non troppo lento)
Variation IX. Schnell
Variation X. Poco Adagio
Variation XI. Un poco più animato
Variation XII. Allegretto, poco scherzando
Variation XIII. Non troppo Presto
Variation XIV. Andante
Variation XV. Poco Adagio
Variation XVI. Adagio

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Having opened his survey of Brahms's music for solo piano with the third piano sonata, Jonathan Plowright has saved the composer's Opus 1, Piano Sonata No. 1 in C major, for the closing disc in the series. Brahms brought the sonata with him when he went to Düsseldorf in October 1853 in order to meet Robert and Clara Schumann – an encounter which has gone down in music history. It was possibly the C major sonata, with its opening reminiscent of Beethoven’s Hammerklavier Sonata, which caused Schumann to liken Brahms to ‘a young eagle’ and a ‘true apostle’.

Very soon after the meeting, Schumann’s mental health began to decline, to the point of him attempting suicide in February 1854. Composed in the same year, Brahms’s Op. 9 Schumann Variations were closely connected with these events and with Robert and Clara. Brahms chose a theme – from Schumann’s collection Bunte Blätter – which Clara herself had composed a set of variations on, and dedicated it to her. Schumann died, hospitalized, in 1856, but Clara and Brahms remained intimate friends and some forty years later, Clara was one of the first persons to whom Brahms showed the newly composed set of Fantasies, Op. 116: ‘wonderfully original’ was her reaction, and later performers and listeners have agreed with her.

Jonathan Plowright has been described as ‘a true and moving poet of the keyboard’ by Gramophone magazine and his Brahms cycle has received critical acclaim, with instalments being singled out in Gramophone (Editor’s Choice), BBC Music Magazine (Instrumental Choice of the Month) and on ClassicsToday.com (‘10/10’).


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Brahms, Johannes: Piano Music Vol. 5 <span>-</span> Plowright, Jonathan (piano) Brahms, Johannes: Piano Music Vol. 5 Plowright, Jonathan (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt