• BIS2127 Katalognummer
  • 7318599921273 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2016 Utgivelsesår

Plowright, Jonathan (piano)

Brahms, Johannes



Brahms, Johannes

Variations on a Hungarian Melody, Op.21, No.2:
Thema. Allegro
Variation I
Variation II
Variation III
Variation IV
Variation V. Con espressione
Variation VI
Variation VII. Poco più lento, dolce espressivo. Quasi pizzicato
Variation VIII. Ancora un poco più lento. Espressivo, dolce
Variation IX. Dolce
Variation X. Legato, dolce
Variation XI. Dolce
Variation XII. Espressivo
Variation XIII. Con forza
Allegro (il doppio movimento)—Tempo I più animato

Eight Pieces, Op.76:
1. Capriccio in F sharp minor. Un poco agitato
2. Capriccio in B minor. Allegretto non troppo
3. Intermezzo in A flat major. Grazioso
4. Intermezzo in B flat major. Allegretto grazioso
5. Capriccio in C sharp minor. Agitato, ma non troppo presto
6. Intermezzo in A major. Andante con moto
7. Intermezzo in A minor. Moderato semplice
8. Capriccio in C major. Grazioso ed un poco vivace

Waltzes, Op.39:
No.1 in B major. Tempo giusto
No.2 in E major. Dolce
No.3 in G sharp minor. Dolce
No.4 in E minor. Poco sostenuto
No.5 in E major. Grazioso
No.6 in C sharp major. Vivace
No.7 in C sharp minor. Poco più andante
No.8 in B flat major. Dolce, sotto voce
No.9 in D minor. Espressivo
No.10 in G major. Poco scherzando
No.11 in B minor
No.12 in E major
No.13 in B major
No.14 in G sharp minor
No.15 in A flat major
No.16 in C sharp minor

Piano Pieces, Op.118:
1. Intermezzo in A minor. Allegro non assai, ma molto appassionato
2. Intermezzo in A major. Andante teneramente
3. Ballade in G minor. Allegro energico
4. Intermezzo in F minor. Allegretto un poco agitato
5. Romance in F major. Andante - Allegretto grazioso - Tempo I
6. Intermezzo in E flat minor. Andante, largo e mesto

Velg antall  


Critical acclaim for Jonathan Plowright's two previous discs in his series of Brahms’s works for solo piano includes distinctions such as ‘10/10’ on the website Classics Today and top marks in Diapason as well as ‘Instrumental Choice of the Month’ in BBC Music Magazine. On his third disc Plowright presents the listener with two seemingly contradictory aspects of Johannes Brahms: the deeply serious, emotionally charged, but also meticulously constructed late Piano Pieces of Op. 118 and their precursor Op. 76 appear side by side with the unapologetic extroversion and scintillating verve of most (if not all) of the 16 Waltzes Op. 39, and the flamboyant Variations on a Hungarian Melody. Brahms’s fascination with Hungarian gypsy music stemmed from his friendship with the violinist Eduard Reményi, and found an outlet in several works, among which the Hungarian Dances are probably the most famous. The composer was also a friend and admirer of Johann Strauss II, and in his Op. 39 trespassed – with great success – into the domains of Vienna's 'Waltz King'. It is tempting to think that Brahms early experience as a pianist in taverns and restaurants induced him to compose this sophisticated light music, but there were also commercial reasons: he composed the waltzes for piano four hands and subsequently made no less than two arrangements for solo piano of the entire set.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Brahms, Johannes: Piano Works Vol. 3 <span>-</span> Plowright, Jonathan (piano) Brahms, Johannes: Piano Works Vol. 3 Plowright, Jonathan (piano)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt