• CCSSA34113 Katalognummer
  • 723385341130 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2013 Utgivelsesår

Podger, Rachel (violin) | director

Podger, Rachel

Č | | | , Bojan (violin II) | Bircher, Katy (flute) | Bellamy, Alexandra (oboe) | McGillivray, Alison (cello) | Pramsohler, Johannes | Nowak-Pokrzywinska, Anna (violins II & III)

Bach, Johann Sebastian

Brecon Baroque



Bach, Johann Sebastian:

Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV1043
Concerto for Flute, Violin & Harpsichord in A minor, BWV1044
Concerto for Oboe, Violin and Strings BWV1060R
Concerto for Three Violins in C major, BWV1064

Velg antall  


The dynamic ensemble Brecon Baroque was founded in 2007 by violinist and director Rachel Podger as resident ensemble at her annual Brecon Baroque Festival. The international line-up consists of some of the leading lights in the period-instrument world, such as cellist Alison McGillivray, flautist Katy Bircher, oboist Alexandra Bellamy and violist Jane Rogers, as well as some of Rachel's former students who now occupy leading positions in many of Europe's finest ensembles: violinists Bojan Čičić and Johannes Pramsohler.

Brecon Baroque specialises in the music of J.S. Bach and his contemporaries, mostly as a one-to-apart ensemble based on the Cafe Zimmerman ensemble which Bach himself directed. They also appear as a small baroque orchestra for Vivaldi, Telemann, Purcell and Handel. More than any other composer of his period, J. S. Bach realised the possibilities of the concerto avec plusieurs instruments.

Drawing on the precedents of Vivaldi and others, Bach’s probing musical intellect led him down novel paths of invention where the collaborative and antagonistic features of the genre reached unprecedented levels of complexity. (...) The state of the surviving musical sources for Bach’s concertos suggests that he produced them for a variety of contexts, whether the courtly milieu of Köthen, the urban setting of the Collegium Musicum in Leipzig, or even for his own domestic entertainment. This was music that he was willing to rework for different occasions, and each of the concertos on this disc existed in more than one version. (from liner notes by Tim Jones)


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Bach, Johann Sebastian: Double & Triple Concertos <span>-</span> Podger, Rachel (violin/director) Bach, Johann Sebastian: Double & Triple Concertos Podger, Rachel (violin/director)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt