• BIS2196 Katalognummer
  • 7318599921969 EAN
  • 1SACD Format
  • 2018 Utgivelsesår

Rudder, Alain De (trumpet) | Rijen, Jorgen van (trombone)

Brabbins, Martyn

Aho, Kalevi

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra



Aho, Kalevi:

Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra (2010):
I. Tranquillo
II. Presto
III. Adagio
IV. Vivace – Tranquillo

Concerto for Trumpet and Symphonic Wind Orchestra (2011):
I. Misterioso
II. Vivace
III. Intermezzo e cadenza
IV. Finale. Capriccioso

Dette er bestillingsvare:
Kjøp varen nå så sender vi den ut så snart den er på lager. Leveringstid avhenger av leverandør.
Velg antall  


Hugely prolific as well as widely acclaimed, Kalevi Aho has composed 30 concertos to date. Many of them are available in recordings from BIS, and the present release features two works from the past decade. The Concerto for Trombone and Orchestra was commissioned for Jörgen van Rijen, who also performs it here. The concerto is actually Aho’s second concertante piece for the trombone – his Symphony No. 9 (1994) included a substantial and very virtuosic solo part for the instrument. In that work, and even more so in the concerto, the composer’s aim has been to extend the expressive and virtuosic possibilities of the trombone. Composed around the same time, the Trumpet Concerto is scored for the wind section of a medium-sized symphony orchestra, plus two saxophones, baritone horn and percussion. It was given its premiere by the same musicians that perform it here, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra under Martyn Brabbins supporting its principal trumpet Alain De Rudder in what is often a surprisingly jazzy work.


Laster kommentarer ...

×Tips en venn

Aho, Kalevi: Concertos for Trumpet and Trombone <span>-</span> Rijen, Jörgen van (trombone) / Rudder, Alain De (trumpet) Aho, Kalevi: Concertos for Trumpet and Trombone Rijen, Jörgen van (trombone) / Rudder, Alain De (trumpet)

Send tipset til (din venns e-postadresse)

Din e-postadresse (IP:

Din kommentar (valgfritt)
Minst et par ord, dersom du skriver noe

Sender, vennligst vent ..  Avbryt