Bach: Mass in B minor - Arcangelo / Cohen, Jonathan

Bach: Mass in B minor - Arcangelo / Cohen, Jonathan

Pris: 399 kr


  • CDA68051 Produktnummer:
  • Arcangelo / Cohen, Jonathan Produsent:
  • 2CD Format:
  • 2014 Produksjonsår:
  • Lavt lager (1 stk) Tilgjengelighet:
  • URL:



Gramophone Magazine November 2014 Editor's Choice
Gramophone Awards 2015 Finalist - Baroque Vocal

Arcangelo and their inspirational director Jonathan Cohen, one of the brightest stars in the Early Music galaxy, present Bach’s great masterpiece in a glorious new recording made following a thrilling performance at the Tetbury festival.

Arcangelo are still a relatively new ensemble, but have already won one Gramophone Award and been nominated for another. The members of the choir and orchestra are performers of dazzling technical ability with a passion for faithful interpretation that goes far beyond historical understanding. Their previous recordings for Hyperion have been praised for their liveliness, colour and full string sound. In this new recording these aspects of their performance are alchemically combined with a feeling of the great solemnity of Bach’s monumental achievement.

Cohen's take side-steps Joshua Rifkin's premise that it should be sung one-to-a-part and fields a choir of 20...Cohen announces the Credo at an invigoratingly purposeful lick...Tim Mead's eloquently restrained Agnus Dei is crowned by a Dona nobis pacem whose blazing grandiloquence grips. BBC ****

Cohen's rejection of the generic, within a grand and ravishing overview, is what propels an overwhelming sense here that this reading deserves to be taken very seriously...The work infrequently speaks with such gracefulness, freedom or conviction. Gramphone

A performance that couldn’t be bettered. MusicWeb